Established in 1946, the Church has a rich history, beginning in 1940 when Msgr. George Lewis Smith of St. Mary’s Help of Christians Church in Aiken obtained ten acres of land between Gloversville and Langley, fronting on the old U.S. Highway No. 1. The Horse Creek Valley Welfare Centre was first constructed. Followed by the Church of Our Lady of the Valley, which was dedicated on Sunday, December 22, 1946. The Church is of rural Gothic style with granite construction throughout and a red tile roof. The interior is of rough texture, finished in the spirit of the early English Gothic with open timbered ceiling. Each of the stained glass windows symbolizes one of the great virtues of our Blessed Lady.